//
you're reading...
General

What is your occupation?

I just had the man from the Australian Electoral Commission come to my house to make sure that all of the members of the household where up-to-date on the electoral roll. I wasn’t, so I had to fill in a form. I’ve moved recently, and had completely forgotton about the fact that I’m now in a new Electorate.

So, on the form, I had to fill out a little box that said “Occupation:” and I was stumped! I had no idea what to write. I thought… “Soldier” – yer I could put that but that might be a bit “strange” to the guy. then I thought I could put “Data entry Clerk” but I didn’t want that to be on my record! (for longer that absolutely necesary anyway!) I went on to fill in the other questions, deciding to to come back to that one. Heaps of ideas were coming at me… “Christian” hmm.. “Minister”, “Youth worker” (although I dont do a lot of that anymore) “Graphic Designer” “Web Designer” all these things..

He goes to me “hahah, don’t know what to put? I can’t hold one job down for very long either!” I was a bit taken a back by that comment, but by then I had decided to write… “Volunteer”. “I’m a volunteer, I do volunteering, I’ll put that.” He goes, “Oh! Cool, good on ya”

Anyways. the point being.. I think I like the fact that there is not one thing that defines my life. I’m not going to be an “accountant” or an “engineer” forever. I’m a servant of God! and I’m going to “volunteer” for HIM, forever.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “What is your occupation?

  1. Amen.

    Posted by graham | April 1, 2006, 12:53 am
  2. I like your response!

    Posted by Burt | April 1, 2006, 4:47 am
  3. Cool!

    Posted by jeff | April 1, 2006, 4:55 am
  4. Good post…I remember someone asking once “How would God fill out an application, if He were filling it out for you? More or less, asking How does God see you and your work history. Kinda cool too…Thanks for the post.

    Posted by Dave | April 1, 2006, 5:16 am
  5. I was having a very similar discussion with a friend of mine at school this week. And how society tends to define us as workers above all else. “Nice to meet you, and what are you?” “Well I am an accountant”. I am sorry but I won’t be defined by a day job. I am much more than an (fill in the blank). So cheers great response.

    Peter (Canada)
    http://www.lublink.ca
    ps- came across you through the blogring if you were wondering.

    Posted by Peter | April 1, 2006, 7:45 pm
  6. This time… it has been such a struggle. I have had no inspiration and no desire to do this painting and it needs to be done for TOMORROW morning.

    Posted by Replica Watches | December 25, 2013, 8:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,181 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

