//
you're reading...
General

Can I have your opinion please?

You may have bumped into my painting below with the words reading “Where’s the power of the Cross in my life?” It is based on a song written by the guys at Hillsong Church, and I can’t figure out whether I love it or hate it. I was wondering if you could read it and give me your first gut feeling of what the words mean|say to you.

It is different when you hear it (especially when you hear the Hillsong recording) but I guess an opinion on the words is what i’m looking for. Here goes…

Where’s the Power of the Cross in my life?

I say on Sunday how much I want revival
and then on Monday I can’t even find my Bible
Where’s the power
the power of the Cross in my life?

I’m sick of playing the game of Religion
I’m tired of losing my reason for living
Where’s the power
the power of the Cross in my life?

I’m not content just to walk through my life
giving in to the lies and walking in compromises
now we cry out as a generation that was lost
but now is found in the power of the Cross.

We believe in you
We believe in the power of your word and its truth
We believe in you,
so we lay down our cause that our Cross might be found in you.

I’m not satisfied doing it my own way
I’m not satisfied to do church and walk away
I’m not satisfied
There’s no love in my life but you.

I’m not satisfied living in yesterday’s hour.
I’m not satisfied to have the form but not the power
I’m not satisfied
Lord, I am Crucified with you.

We believe in you
We believe in the power of your word and its truth
We believe in you,
so we lay down our cause that our Cross might be found in you.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Can I have your opinion please?

  1. Thanks.Nice Stuffs!

    Sarvesh

    Posted by Sarvesh | April 16, 2006, 8:09 pm
  2. I remember the first time I heard this song it was sung by a chap I didn’t have a lot of time for. Furthermore someone suggested that it was innapropriate as a congregational song, as the 1st verse may not be the testimony of all present, nor would we want it to be. It is almost a song of repentance, but almost not quite, and one could say that singing it would be speaking words of death over yourself. However it is a useful prayer that many people need to make. I guess it’s a matter of finding when and where it’s appropriate to use it (i.e. not at an evangelistic meeting).

    Posted by Shaw Coleman | April 21, 2006, 3:29 am
  3. Reminds me of the song Resurrection by Nicole [? formerly of the group Selah]. It says what we often need to say, and inspires us to shake out of pharisaical living habits.

    Dunno if the tune is catchy or appropriately expressive, tho…

    Posted by Dodi | April 21, 2006, 7:39 am
  4. The sun resides in the Milky Way Galaxy, which is shaped like a flying saucer, flat and with a bulge in the center.

    Posted by Replica Watches | December 25, 2013, 8:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Links people used.

  • None

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,200 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

