//
you're reading...
General

"Aboriginal Dog Chasing a Kangaroo".

I just got back from spending the long weekend in Kalgoorlie, a town about 6-7 hours east-north-east of Perth in Western Australia.

I just looked up the meaning of Kalgoorlie on google, and found out that it means… “Aboriginal Dog Chasing a Kangaroo” How funny is that! I thought it might have some deep philisophical aboriginal-spiritual meaning, but it turns out that it doesn’t!

Anyway, our Corps songsters were visiting Kalgoorlie to put on a concert for the Kalgoorlie Salvos and community to thank the community for their support of the annual red-shield appeal.

I was dreading the weekend so much. I could think of a million and one things that I would have preferred to be doing on the long weekend, but I ended up having a really good time. I seriously had to leave alot of crap at the foot of Jesus on Friday night. I was having so many negative feelings about the whole thing. It took a lot of prayer to get through to the other side; realising what I was feeling about it and being able to leave it with Jesus and ask him to redeem my efforts and let them bring Glory to Him.

And He did. It ended up being a really beautiful weekend.

I was able to share in some really wonderful experiences with both the people of Kalgoorlie and also my comrades from Balga. Sometimes throughout the weekend I was thinking, “where is God in all of this?” “why are we doing all of this?” but He certainly was able to answer those questions and more, and to show me what it was all about. The blessings that we were able to bring to the Corps in Kal were huge. I don’t think anyone realised just how much God was able to use us to bless that little group of people.

Inadvertantly, the “theme” of the weekend ended up being about God’s guidance and direction in our lives. My mate Joel had written a song and wanted to sing it during the sunday night meeting, but had worried about whether singing it was going to “fit” or “suit” the weekend. As far as I know, after the sunday morning meeting, he was able to be at peace with it, because it’s message seemed to be exactly what God was wanting to say through our group being in Kalgoorlie for the weekend.

The line of the song that jumped out at me and resonated with my heart is in bold, this is the second chorus;

This is the way walk in it,
[b]”This is MY way, walk in it.”[/b]
left or right, I know that You will lead
willing to just trust in You to guide my feet
and that’s enough for me.
That’s enough for me.

The lord says “This is my way, walk in it.” Sometimes I think to myself, “if only it were that easy”. But then I think maybe it is. Maybe we make it all way too complicated.

It was very special to be able to sing this song with Joel this weekend. We’re actually going into a recording studio this week to record it. I’m extremely excited!

In thinking about the fact that I’m heading out of the country in less than 2 weeks, I’m also drawn to think about a song that I’ve asked the band-master if we’ll be able to do it on my last sunday morning. “I’m in his hands”. It is a remake of the chorus of an old army tune. An absolutely beautiful song, with a heart wrenching testimonial message. I remember when [url=http://xander.lifewithchrist.org]Xander[/url] sang it at his farwell meeting in Ellenbrook, I balled my eyes out. Not only because I knew that I was going to miss Xander, but because I knew that he was singing out of an absolutely commited understanding of the way that God was going to be looking after him. I hope that I can sing it with a similar whole-hearted belief in its truth.

“I’m in His hands,
I’m in His hands,
whatever the future holds,
I’m in His hands.
The days I cannot see
have all been planned for me
His way is best
you see, I’m in his hands.”

I’m scared|excited|nervous about my upcoming trip across the world, but I know that God is my sheild and my fortress and my comforter and my protector and my friend. No matter what happens, I know that I am safe in His arms. Praise Him.

I’ve done a huge amount of growing and changing in The Lord these last few months, and I hope that over the next few i will continue to grow more in the knowledge and Love of Jesus, growing to be more like Him, in honesty, purity, holiness and integrity.

I’m almost in tears thinking about how much I will miss my friends and family in Perth. There is a small bunch of people here who have been the hugest blessing to me over the last few months. Who have really journeyed with me, and supported me and encouraged me along the way. They know who they are. I know that me being on the other side of the world doesn’t mean that they are going to stop loving me, but I know that it sure going to be hard not being in such close proximity for a time.

In saying that, I know that there will be others that God will put in my path overseas who will be able to be that close care and support to me while I’m where i’m at. And I thank and Praise God that he knows what I need. He knows what kind of support and love and care I need in order to function effectively for Him. I’m not going to pretend that I wont miss those back here though.

In any case, I hope that those reading this might be aware that over the next few weeks, I’ll be in a bit of a crazy place. I’ll be packing for 3 months of travel, which is not an easy task, I’ll be having at least 3 “farewells”, and I’ll more than likely be excited and crying lots all in the midst of that. So please, pray for me in this time. God knows what I need, and I praise and thank him for that.

I thankyou in advace for your encouragement and support.

With blessings, I leave you now, so that I may sleep 🙂
Kathleen.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “"Aboriginal Dog Chasing a Kangaroo".

  1. That’s the longest blog you’ve ever written. Thankyou for sharing your heart.

    Love you lots and we’re all looking forward to seeing you in LESS THAN TWO WEEEEEKS! YAAAYYY!

    Posted by Alexander Coleman | June 6, 2006, 1:24 pm
  2. wow katty that is a long blog…impressed 🙂 I love you and will miss you and it’s so awesome that you’re going over there and it’s so so awesome to me that you are relying on god so much in this journey.

    Posted by Alli | June 6, 2006, 4:26 pm
  3. I love you Splatty! Missing you loads already!

    Posted by Shaw Coleman | June 7, 2006, 4:13 am
  4. aww kafreen, we’re going to miss you!

    Posted by friar laurence | June 7, 2006, 5:55 pm
  5. The Chairman of the Board of the Red Sheild Appeal, The Divisional Social Programme Secretary and The Premier all said a few words

    Posted by Replica Watches | December 25, 2013, 8:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,489 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

