//
you're reading...
Adventure Updates

Adventure Update #002

[b]20th June 9.05pm (Vancouver Time)
[i]Downtown Eastside Vancouver.[/i][/b]

So it’s 9.05pm and the sun still hasn’t gone down. Weird.

This is the first time that I’ve had a chance to sit down and do nothing since I’ve been here. I finally have a key to the place that I’m staying so more or less I can come and go as I please. Before, I had to kinda follow people around until it was time to go home.

Where I’m staying is really nice. Apparently it is the nicest hotel in the entire area, which is kinda cool. I feel quite spoiled here actually, I was expecting much less. I’m taking some photos of my room, so you can see what it’s like. I’ll post them soon.

I’m missing home lots. Mainly because I miss the routine, and knowing my way around and being able to call people on my phone, and just everything. I miss [b][i]knowing people[/i][/b], but that will come hopefully.

I have found it quite interesting here so far in many ways. The way the community works here is strange to me. People live in each others lives ALL the time. The fact that this is the first time I’ve been alone so far is reminiscent of that, because people just hang out with each other all day everyday until it’s time to go home and sleep. It’s only strange because it is very different. What I’ve been apart of so far in this community has been amazing. I like though, that now (with my key) I kinda have more of a choice of where and when I do stuff.

The fact that it’s light still at 9pm is good too, because it feels much safer to walk around the streets of the DTES when it’s light.

I’ve spend all day today at what is known as the World Urban Forum. And I was "All Sally’d Up". It is basically a conference (set up more like a "forum" to act more like discussion than seminar) that is addressing issues to do with the urban societies. Housing, infrastructure, poverty, government policy etc. etc. Although there are a lot of big words that I don’t understand, and a lot of people who seem to be very important, it has been extremely rewarding so far to be a part of something that has the potential to be a change or at least a path to change that the world needs. We’ll (Xander, Matt and myself) be going there again tomorrow and thursday, that is if my newly formed blisters don’t give me too much grief.

I was a part of a cell group tonight that is held at Xander’s house in Metrotown. He made nice food, which was good 🙂 Thanks X! It was a pleasure to meet together with that group (Three of which are Australians – go us!) We ended up on the subject of care packages (if anyone feels like sending me one from back home – I’m happy to let you know the address to send it to – [b][i]email me[/i][/b]) and then it flowed into us brainstorming ways to bless people by sending them gifts. It turned into us making a commitment to ask God to put someone on our hearts who we could bless in this way, and then ask God to tell us what that person should receive in their package. We figured it was pretty cool that we could strengthen our relationship and our praying with Jesus, and at the same time bless a friend so much, by giving them something that God knows they need. A good idea I think.

The sun still hasn’t gone down and its now 9.45pm. I feel the need to go to bed, but almost would feel really weird about going to bed before the sun goes down.

Alas, I’m going to sleep now anyway.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Adventure Update #002

  1. You forgot to mention how beautiful I am!
    Hahaha.
    Kat…just wanted to say: you look nothing like your ‘blog photo.’
    -Champ

    Posted by Private Champ | June 22, 2006, 10:13 pm
  2. Sure she does… Hmmm… maybe not in uniform, especially if she’s wearing a hat. Splatty, I haven’t seen you in uniform in AGES!

    Posted by Shaw Coleman | June 23, 2006, 5:25 am
  3. Well…she’s been wearing her uni all week to the World Urban Forum…guess you’re just missing out Shaw.
    -Private Champ

    Posted by Matthew Champ | June 23, 2006, 7:24 am
  4. Hi – Nice to read how you are going. I’m missing you already!
    I think your “clustrmap circle” from Perth is going to get way bigger over the next few months.

    Posted by Mummy! | June 23, 2006, 6:14 pm
  5. I just spent half and hour writing a blog, only to have it delete itself. Fun Fun. I’ll try to re-write it all later. For now though, enjoy the photos.

    Posted by Replica Watches | December 25, 2013, 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Links people used.

  • None

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,978 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

