//
you're reading...
Adventure Updates

Adventure Update #003

[b]22nd June 10.07pm (Vancouver Time)
[i]The Shaldon Hotel – My home for the next 2 months (or so, depending on where and when people need the bed I’m sleeping on).[/i][/b]

Again, its 7 minutes past ten and the sun has only just gone down. I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to get used to this. If anything other than jet lag is going to make me tired then this is it.

I’ve been amazing at how much I’ve been able to fit into the day since I’ve been here. Like I went to the world urban forum this morning for a couple of hours, but it doesn’t feel like it happened today. Odd.

I also helped out with the moving of the Command Centre today. I climbed a large flight of stairs about 20 times (literally – I’m not just saying that). So with that, together with all the walking I’ve been doing, is the most exercise that I’ve done in an EXTREMELY long time. I think even in my days of going to the gym everyday or every second day I didn’t do as much as I’ve done in these last couple of days.

Alli, I think the weight is falling off me already. With that though comes some nasty blisters.

Tonight I experienced [b][i]Knee Drill[/i][/b] for the first time. It was quite cool. It’s kinda like church, but more like a prayer and praise party. We started off by singing some songs in praise to YHWY, and then we did a prayer exercise, where we considered or prayed about what God had been or has been speaking to us about lately. Whether it be in [b][i]Rations[/i][/b] or the [b][i]War Room[/i][/b]. God has been speaking Peace into me recently. Peace about what I’m doing on this adventure. Peace about his love for me. Peace in His grace and stillness. And Peace, in the terms of rest; in this way;

"…and I will give you rest" – that is "I will sustain you, causing you to stand firm." He is not saying, "I will put you to bed, hold your hand, and sing you to sleep." But in essence, He is saying, "I will get you out of bed – out of your [b][i]listlessness and exhaustion[/i][/b], and out of your condition of being [b][i]half dead while you are still alive[/i][/b]. I will [b][i]penetrate you with the spirit of life[/i][/b], and you will be [b][i]sustained by the perfection of vital activity[/i][/b]." Yet we become so weak and pitiful and talk about "suffering" the will of the Lord! Where is the majestic vitality and the power of the Son of God in that?
– (June 11) My Utmost for His Highest, Oswald Chambers (edited by James Reimann)

And then, once considered, we painted a large mural, with a visual representation of what everyone had been considering. Then there was an opportunity to share and pray. And in praying, speaking the positive messages from God prophetically into each others lives. For example Jenni prayed for me that the Peace of God would reign in my life, and I would find rest in my saviour. etc. It was a really special evening.

Then we headed on down to "Tinsel-town" for McDonalds – the chips were too salty and they gave me the wrong burger. And they add the tax on after the set price – what’s with that?

but altogether a good day. And I fit heaps into it – praise Jesus. Tomorrow (friday) will be even more full on. I officially start my course tomorrow. Jesus please give me the strength that I need, and please heal my feet so that I’m not in pain all day as we walk around the city.

I love you Lord. Continue to bless me and my brothers and sisters here in the DTES. And PLEASE be with those that are back in Perth. Especially those in Balga. You’ve been preparing Balga for so long Lord, start doing your amazing work – start to let it be seen.

Signing off for now. Love you all.
Kathleen.

p.s. there are two guys standing outside the door of my hotel room who are shouting swear words loudly. I get the feeling that I should be praying for them.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Adventure Update #003

  1. You didn’t talk about your “Flowers” experience!

    Posted by Alexander Coleman | June 24, 2006, 11:01 am
  2. Yes , taxes added on after the posted price , thats what they do . Probably the only thing that has the tax figured into the posted price is gasoline 🙂 ( that may not be true where you are but it is true in the US)

    I think those loud swearing guys at the hotel door are there for prayer 😉

    Posted by Kenny | June 24, 2006, 3:41 pm
  3. hey katty, I miss you heaps and it is AWESOME to read what a good time you’re having, and what a learning cuve it has been for you already. I love you lots and miss you. oh and it’s awesome you’ve lost weight already (you do suck a bit for it tho)…although I have lost a kilo this week, so hopefully I’m not TOO far behind. 🙂
    Love u

    Posted by Alli | June 24, 2006, 10:16 pm
  4. What’s the Flowers experience?

    Posted by Shaw Coleman | June 29, 2006, 2:36 am
  5. Hey Kat, Glad to hear you are there safely and enjoying ur time already, will be reading ur blogs to see how your going, and praying for you whilst you are there on ur mission!!
    Luv and Prayers Always
    Shella

    Posted by Shella | June 29, 2006, 6:43 am
  6. so i think another installment is a bit overdue… what’s happening with you atm?

    Posted by friar laurence | June 29, 2006, 4:45 pm
  7. I seem to have missed the pictures of the Shaldon – its alright though, I slept there for 8 months. I am only a little envious that you’re sleeping in my room…just a little! Am loving hearing about your experiences.
    Be blessed.

    Posted by Denise | July 11, 2006, 1:04 pm
  8. I just spent half and hour writing a blog, only to have it delete itself. Fun Fun. I’ll try to re-write it all later. For now though, enjoy the photos.

    Posted by Replica Watches | December 25, 2013, 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,185 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

