//
you're reading...
Adventure Updates

Adventure Update #004

Hallelujah! The End is near!
Jacynta singing her heart out.
A pretty clean alley.
The Empress
The View from The War Room at 10pm

[b]3rd July 11.22am
[i]The Shaldon[/i][/b]

Wow, sorry, I really haven’t updated for ages!

So BTI is over, and all but two of us have gone home. Lisa and I are both sticking around until August.

So BTI was awesome. If I was in a box before, I’ve now begun to climb my way out of it. My eyes have been opened to the world. My eyes have been opened to a God who is much bigger than I ever would have imagined.

The greatest thing that I learned during BTI was that God wants to talk to me. All the time, I just nearly never let him speak. So I’ve been trying to press in and listen, to the voice, to the whisper. It’s hard work, mainly because, by habit, my prayers involve a lot of talking and not a lot of listening, so it takes practice and discipline to shut up for a while and let him speak. It’s been awesome, learning how to speak out in the prophetic.

I’ve also been challenged greatly about reading the bible. Or should I say, my lack of reading the bible. How are we to know who God is unless we get into the word? Because even if he is to reveal himself to us in other ways, like listening prayer or situations etc, things still need to have their foundation in the word of the Lord. So, I went to the Carnegie (library + community centre) the other day and just started reading Jeremiah. Because, apart from Jeremiah 29.11 which is quoted ALL the time, I don’t think I’ve ever read it. And guess what, the Lord spoke to me so clearly the exact things that I needed to hear.

So this week, I hope to be helping out with Warrior Academy – Vacation Bible School. Working with Children will be another challenge for me, because I’m not really all that patient when it comes to children, so YHWH is going to have to work through me – Hallelujah!

Oh, I got in trouble last time for not talking about my “Flowers” experience. Ok, so Flowers is a restaurant in the DTES where you can get really cheap food that is really good, but really oily. And they serve you fries Galore! I reckon there would have been about 4 and a half potatoes worth of fries on the plate. Check out the photos I posted earlier this week for the before and after shot! I went to another DTES restaurant yesterday for breakfast with Jacynta, called The Ovaltine, which apparently featured in the movie “iRobot”. I had eggs benedict for $3.50. Nice. There’s some good stuff around here – if only people knew that that was cheaper than McDonalds.

So, I’m not sure what else to talk about, except that I’m having a really hard time with missing home at the moment, especially as I spent most of the weekend saying goodbye to BTI delegates who were heading home.

I’m also having a hard time coping with watching what goes on outside my hotel all hours of the day and night and walking just up the road to the tourist center of town and tasting the Apathy in the air. It’s really heart wrenching.

I bought breakfast for a lady called Jackie this morning. She’s known as Rosie on the streets, because she sells flowers to make her money. She became my newest friend who lives on the street. I prayed for her when we parted and she asked if she could give me a hug. I warmly received it. It makes me so sad, watching her doing everything she can, just to get enough money for a room to stay in. Or a drug to take. I hope its the former. I love you Jackie.

I must go.
Because He lives. I can face tomorrow.
In love, Kathleen.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Adventure Update #004

  1. wow katty, it sounds like you’re still having an awesome time and learning masses and masses. I miss you lots and I’m looking forward to having convo after convo with you about what you’ve learnt and what God has done in you while you’ve been over there.
    love you Alli

    Posted by Alli | July 4, 2006, 12:58 am
  2. We call the really oily restaurants ” greasy spoons ” 🙂

    Posted by bottomyellow | July 4, 2006, 7:39 pm
  3. I just spent half and hour writing a blog, only to have it delete itself. Fun Fun. I’ll try to re-write it all later. For now though, enjoy the photos.

    Posted by Replica Watches | December 25, 2013, 8:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Links people used.

  • None

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,978 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

