//
you're reading...
Adventure Updates

Adventure Update #007

Lots of exciting things are always going on. Missing home lots, but it think that that is mainly because God has been giving me some cool visions and ideas about things that I need to get involved in and do when I get back so I’m just so eager.

He’s also teaching me a lot about prayer, and persistance in prayer. Pressing on in Prayer. Without it being intentional I spent 15 hours in the War Room (24/7 prayer room) in two days. That was strange. 1. Because I’ve never prayed that much in my entire life, and 2. because I’ve never felt so spiritually spent. Like, it’s a war right, and we’re fighting against satan and his evils and the stuff that gets in the way of God’s glory, so in theory, of course its spiritually exhausting, but whoh was I feeling it at the end of friday. (I was then scheduled in for a 2am-5am the next morning… no wonder I didn’t wake up when my alarm went off!)

I’m also trying to observe community, and figure out what it is and figure out what “Authentic Christian Community” should look like. I don’t think I’ve seen it yet. I’ve been in a few interesting discussions and I’m reading a very good book about it at the moment too. I’m interesting mainly because I love to observe how people interact with one another, and I’m interested to know whether there is some kind of “ideal” in community that we should be striving for. Not that there is a perfect answer or anything, but I feel that there must be some kind of good model, that could be implimented for the benefit of the entire body of Chirst. I dunno, just ideas floating in my head at the moment.

I’m striggling a bit at the moment to know where my place is. And where I “fit”. I dont necessarily feel that I need to “fit in” but at the same time, it’s hard because 3 months is more than just a visit. you have to have some kind of support network and some kind of love system to be a part of so that you don’t crumble right? So do you love people as much as you would at “home” and then have to hurt a lot when you leave. How does it work? I think that I’m loving as much as I can, but I’m not sure how much others are loving me. Maybe, when they ask me “how long are you here for”, and I say, “2 and half months” they switch off the love thing. I dunno. I’m yet to figure out the dynamic of things around here. By some people I feel so loved and valued, and by others I feel like I’m invading their space and just taking up room. i’m sure that it’s not nessicarily their intention to make me feel like that, but thats the way it is. So its really hard. I just feel really lonely, and I dont feel like I should. Hmm. Interesting thoughts. I didn’t realise I felt that way.

Wow, that was a vulnerable moment.

So, there are some of my thoughts, not much in the way of practical update today.

I love Jesus a lot.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Adventure Update #007

  1. awwww Katty you’re so cute 🙂 I love and miss you. I’m glad you’re having an awesome time, even though you’re finding it hard to discover where you belong over there….email me and tell me how much you’ve lost weight wise 🙂
    love you heaps, miss you more ciao

    Posted by Alli | July 26, 2006, 3:28 am
  2. Good thoughts, though I’m sad that you are feeling lonely and haven’t seen where you fit there. I believe it was something ‘most’ of us went through in the DTES. How do you look past it? I don’t know the answer to that. Keep pressing in and keep loving. While we haven’t totally figured out Authentic Christian Community yet, we are working on it and its great to have new friends to help love and lead. Keep it up.
    Assuming that you’ll still be there in 2 weeks, I look forward to meeting you.
    Be blessed.
    Denise

    Posted by Denise | July 27, 2006, 4:06 pm
  3. This is something that many of us go through in 61:4. There are few natives to vancouver here and it feels often to much like a stoping place. Do not believe that it is only a stoping place. For as the sins of the father are passed on to the son, so the present is passed on to the future and nothing is left behind. Then let us endevour to be present with one another, to forget the past, and be assured of the future.

    Love
    Sean Sauve

    Posted by Elessar42 | July 30, 2006, 2:08 am
  4. Hey Kathleen,
    Thanks for opening up. I know I’ve been away for awhile, but I would like you to know that I’ve valued your presence and see you as an integral part of the body. Whether you were visiting for three weeks or three months, what you do, what you say, hear, feel, contribute…all of it…it leaves an impression. I read a verse today that said, “the purposes of God cannot be thrwarted”. One of the areas our community can improve and grow in is encouragement. Thanks for affirming our deficiency and I welome you sharpening. You are valued though…all those hours in the WR!! That in itself is a blessing beyond what you can know or comprehend. Do not grow weary in doing good! Looking forward to seeing you again soon…
    Tara

    Posted by Tara | August 9, 2006, 2:43 pm
  5. I just feel really lonely, and I dont feel like I should. Hmm. Interesting thoughts. I didn’t realise I felt that way.

    Posted by Replica Rolex | December 25, 2013, 8:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,489 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

