//
you're reading...
General

The Whole Obedience Thing.

Obedience takes practice.

Laurie mentioned in passing the other day that the cafe that has been slowly but surely constructed in the center of Balga Plaza recently had a [b]HELP WANTED[/b] sign and a phone number to call.

My initial thought was “How cool would it be to work at Balga Plaza?” It wasn’t a thought out of the ordinary, because for a while I’d had that as a thought, but never followed it through.

So when I was shopping the other day, I saw the sign, and I felt God telling me to write the number down. I did, semi-confused. I don’t know why I was confused, just that maybe I thought it weird that I should apply here, when God was also telling me to start preparing for Training College.

So I went home, thinking that I’d call the number later (knowing full well that I’d probably chicken out and never do it). Only a short while later, I was washing some dishes, when again I felt God tell me, so clearly to go and call the number. I was like – yer hang on a second God, I’m in the middle of doing the dishes. He was like – DO IT NOW! So in the middle of a bunch of cutlery I dried my hands and called the number. Just like that. I’ve never done that. It normally takes me a VERY long time to work myself up to a phone call when I dont know the person on the other end.

So…. Sam, the guy I called, offered me a Job interview. I was like AHHHHHHHH. Coz it was cool. And coz I’d just listened and obeyed GOD! And at that stage I had no idea what was going to come from it; no idea about whether the interview would go well, or whether I would get the job, but I didn’t care, because I felt so encouraged that I’d actually listened.

So, about 30 minutes ago I walked into the Job interview, after some well needed prayer, to calm me down and get my mind around what was happening. I said to God, look, I have no idea what is going to come from this, but thankyou for stretching me, and letting me fully rely on you. I don’t care if I dont get the job, I just like knowing that you talk, and it seems as though lately I’ve had the ability to hear and listen and understand.

So Sam said that he’d call me tomorrow! Whoooohooo. I cant wait to find out what happens.

It’s weird, I wasn’t even thinking that I needed a job necessarily. I’ve got the option of one coming up in November, so had no real need to apply. Hmm.

I think the whole – being-in-Balga, working-in-Balga, serving-in-Balga thing is actually quite important. I’m really thankful that God is opening up my eyes to see this.

so yer. Thanks for speaking to me YHWH. Thanks that you’ve given me ears to listen. Grow me in this, I wanna know you more.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “The Whole Obedience Thing.

  1. I love it. I LOVE IT! God bless your LIFE!

    Posted by Alexander Coleman | October 10, 2006, 9:30 pm
  2. hey that is cool. obedience is awesome.

    if you get hte job you will have new people to share jesus with and show jesus too, as well as provision for training etc.

    blessings,
    claire

    Posted by Claire | October 11, 2006, 10:37 am
  3. [i]”Trust and obey, for there’s no other way, to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey…”[/i]
    The song of life plays on… What ever that means…

    Posted by Chris | October 12, 2006, 8:17 pm
  4. Hi Kat,

    Congratualtions on this frontline incarnational ministry opportunity!!!

    Posted by Mike | October 12, 2006, 10:18 pm
  5. Thanks for the encouragement guys. I really do see it as a front-line incarnational ministry opportunity. Whoh thats alot of big words!

    Posted by Replica Watches | December 25, 2013, 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,185 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

