//
you're reading...
General

Quitting

I’m thinking about quitting blogging for a while.

It hasn’t been on the top of my priority list for a while as you are well aware, but there are also some other things going on. Jesus has been doing some work. Praise him!

He wants me to focus locally, rather than globally. Just for a time maybe, but for this time.
I realised recently that in my efforts to “live in community” etc. etc. I’ve been searching for answers in far and wide places, everywhere except the place that is right under my nose. My actual community.

I realise that sometimes it is imperative to think globally in order to act locally, however, I have been soo rapped up in the image that I have been creating for myself on the “Salvation Army scene” that I haven’t been focussing on God, on Prayer, on my friends, or on any element of the community that I so desperately want to bring into the Kingdom of Light.

I’ve been conference hopping and seeking after the “life” of the salvation army everywhere apart from what God is doing right under my nose in Balga. what is with that? It’s so selfish. And even though I’m going through a preporatory stage, you know, getting ready for college and the [i]rest of my life[/i] I’ve been trying to fill myself with the wrong priorities.

and sure, its awesome to make connections.
meet people
network
learn
have intense jesus experiences in intense surroundings.
sure it would be nice to go to melbourne and meet the general.
but for what? what is my purpose.
to meet him so that he might like me. huh?
Surely, having known what jesus has been asking me to do for so flippin long right where I’m at, why am I always seeking to get the best thing out of the next free trip to Melbourne.

the salvation army has paid for me to fly to melbourne twice and to canberra once. what’s with that?
when was the last time I even tried to hang out with Jesus in balga at any time other than sunday from 9.30-11 and 6-8pm sheesh.

rahh.

It’s been all about me for way to long. And I realise i’m still in the equation. I’ve still got work to do and things to learn and places to be and things to do, and people to meet and connections to make. But I figure, if I get into position where I’m supposed to be, then God will allow those situations to happen without me having to force my way through the crowd to “Meet the General” as it were.

hmm ranting.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,181 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

