//
you're reading...
General

Poverty, Accountability & Desire.

The Persistence of Poverty: Why the Economics of the Well-Off Can’t Help the Poor

Persistence of Poverty I think I’d like to get my hands on a copy of this book. Has anyone read it or seen it anywhere? It looks like this guy is thinking outside the square.

In this important book the author asserts that conventional explanations of poverty are mistaken, and that the anti-poverty policies built upon them are doomed to fail. Using science, history, fables, philosophical analysis, and common observation, Charles Karelis engages us and takes us to a deeper grasp of the link between consumption and satisfaction-and from there to a new and persuasive explanation of what keeps poor people poor. Above all, he shows how this fresh perspective can reinspire the long-stalled campaign against poverty.

Charles Karelis is Research Professor of Philosophy at The George Washington University. Formerly professor of philosophy at Williams College, director of the Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education, and president of Colgate University, he lives in Washington, D.C.

In other news, I’ve been reading a lot about Professionalism lately. It seems that soldiers and officers are well on their way to professional status (not that we necessarily are seeking it.. that’s not my point). My point is that I feel like the criteria that we are falling behind in is accountabilityperformance measures and commitment to competence. I may be speaking out of line, but I feel that some behavior I’ve witnessed in officers (occasionally) is neither competent, nor accountable to anyone. I’d like to think that as an officer (and soldier for that matter) that I would actually be kept accountable to some kind of performance measure. Is that too much to ask? If I was an employee, I surely would be.

Also, I’m sure you’ve noticed every now and again that God doesn’t give you what you are seeking because he knows that it is not what you need. Have you ever noticed though, that sometimes God gives us the things that we ask for, even though he knows they are bad for us? (1 Samuel 8 –“Give us a king to lead us!”)

Read these:

Some thoughts on Freedom – Gen
Simple Evangelism – James

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Links people used.

  • None

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,978 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

