//
you're reading...
General

Testimony – Karen Jayne Jennings.

KarenJennings “Karen Jayne Jennings entered Heaven on 13 August 2009 into the presence of her risen Lord”

This is an edited excerpt of a testimony given by Karen;

I have early recollections of attending The Salvation Army and cannot remember ever not knowing Jesus being my Saviour from sin. Jesus was a part of my life; I never questioned it. On completion of my schooling and while in teacher’s college I started going out with Philip. After a few years we married. I was very much in love. While I enjoyed teaching and loved married life, I was also starting to experience the symptoms of MS.

What was happening to me? I still had my faith and knew (in my head at least) that God would have the answer. I prayed one morning, "Lord there has to be an answer for me. There must be more to this Christian life than I’m experiencing. It’s supposed to be good! Please show me!" Lying in that hospital bed after the diagnosis of MS, I poured my heart out to the Lord and was enveloped in such a comforting, fear dispelling presence. I was also convicted of my desperate need to be cleansed in the presence of such a pure, holy, perfect God. I knew at this time that I had been rescued by a loving God and that I was His child. That wave of well-being was to continue with me constantly.

KarenJennings2

The main lesson which I have been continually challenged to learn and practise is the need to be directed and empowered by the Holy Spirit (filled with the Spirit). It has been the difference between life and death for me. When I’m filled with The Spirit I can cope with being sick and when I’m not (Jesus isn’t my boss) I can’t cope. I have soaked myself in the Word and have made the decision to obey what I’ve read. I’ve had to do many things by faith when I’ve thought God’s direction has been too hard or "not me" or I just plain didn’t feel like doing it. As I’ve done His Word (because I’ve had to many times) I’ve discovered the absolute joy that is to be experienced when I’ve done things God’s way and not my own.

Every morning I have to pray and in my prayers I have to tell Jesus that I’ll let Him be my boss. That means I obey what I’ve read in the Word and what I know in my heart. It has taken me all these years of sickness to really know and feel the consequences of my actions attempted without God being my boss. I know that God only wants the best for me so I will trust Him in everything that happens. Because I’ve been in obedience training I have been ‘doing the Word’ in faith many times. A wonderful thing has happened as a result. I have had many of the rewards promised in the verses. I know without doubt that God’s way is the only way to live.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Testimony – Karen Jayne Jennings.

  1. Thankyou for posting some of Karen’s testimony, Kat.
    She is certainly an inspiration

    Posted by Simon | November 6, 2009, 12:59 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Posts about Holy Spirit as of August 24, 2009 | PRAYtheREVOLUTION - August 25, 2009

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,181 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

