//
you're reading...
General

Except I Am Moved With Compassion.

I’ve had another go at writing a new tune to classic Salvation Army Song Book words. This time, Except I Am Moved with Compassion.

Please have a listen, and let me know what you think.
I’m thinking that this is just a draft, and that I’d like to develop it, either by taking a verse out and writing a bridge, or somehow else building during the song differently. In the mean time though, it kinda works as a “chill-out” version of the song.

Hope you like it!

Except I Am Moved (demo) by salvokat

The Saviour of men (Except I am moved) – SASB 527

The Saviour of men came to seek and to save
The souls who were lost to the good;
His Spirit was moved for the world which he loved
With the boundless compassion of God.
And still there are fields where the labourers are few,
And still there are souls without bread,
And still eyes that weep where the darkness is deep,
And still straying sheep to be led.

Chorus
Except I am moved with compassion,
How dwelleth thy Spirit in me?
In word and in deed
Burning love is my need;
I now know I can find it in thee.

O is not the Christ ‘midst the crowd of today
Whose questioning cries do not cease?
And will he not show to the hearts that would know
The things that belong to their peace?
But how shall they hear if the preacher forbear
Or lack in compassionate zeal?
Or how shall hearts move with the Master’s own love,
Without his anointing and seal?

It is not with might to establish the right,
Nor yet with the wise to give rest;
The mind cannot show what the heart longs to know
Nor comfort a people distressed.
O Saviour of men, touch my spirit again,
And grant that thy servant may be
Intense every day, as I labour and pray,
Both instant and constant for thee.

Discussion

13 thoughts on “Except I Am Moved With Compassion.

  1. Hey … beautiful voice … I love these words … and I like the melody … but (and honestly I think you have a real talent/gift) those words don’t seem ‘laid back’ to me … but maybe it’s just me. I guess if you’re in a reflective mood, sort of as you’re drifting off to sleep thinking about these words they would go … but you just sang “intense every day” “labour and pray” … I guess from a critical perspective there seems to be a disconnect. I’m not really usually a critical person – and I really did like your voice and the recording – but that was one thing that stood out for me. I do like the idea of taking old words and putting them to new music and I’d encourage you to keep on singing and writing! Feel free to disregard this comment 🙂

    Posted by Alison Moore | February 7, 2011, 7:21 am
    • Thanks for your encouragement Alison!
      To be honest, I wasn’t really going for a laid-back feel originally – it just kind of happened that way because of the limitations of using Garageband to get it down in some way.
      I’ve had a friend help me look at it, and we’re hoping to update it properly, and make it slightly more “epic” especially in that line you talk about “intense every day” – I feel the same!
      Don’t apologise for your words – they’re really helpful! Thanks for listening!
      Many blessings!

      Posted by salvokat | August 19, 2011, 3:16 pm
  2. This chorus popped into my head this morning and I was having a hard time remembering the words. Instead of looking it up in the songbook, I decided to just google it and found your version. It is beautiful. I think updating the music on some of the songs of the songbook is a wonderful idea. I think it helps to bridge the gap between those who love the new songs and those who love the traditional hymns. Keep up the good work.

    Posted by Paula Koch | April 22, 2011, 2:11 am
    • Thanks for your encouragement Paula – I’m glad you found what you were looking for 🙂
      I’m only one of many who are working to update some of these songs – it’s a beautiful way to honour the lyrics and offer them to a new generation.
      Blessings to you!

      Posted by salvokat | August 19, 2011, 3:13 pm
  3. I love the traditional version, and I love your work as well, it is meditative and frech.
    It helped my contenplation.
    Alan

    Posted by Alan Brennan | May 17, 2011, 2:49 pm
  4. The prompts on this site are a little missleading. This is my 3rd try at leaving a comment. The 1st one was glowing , the 2nd was a little shorter, now for the 3rd.

    I loved it, the origional is a favorite, and your work is good for contenplation.
    10/10
    Alan

    Posted by Alan Brennan | May 17, 2011, 2:53 pm
  5. I like it…a lot! It’s got a fresh, current feel to it. I hope you continue to develop it like you suggest…I can see this new treatment of great lyrics being HUGE! Great work.

    Posted by Rob Reardon | June 28, 2011, 4:49 am
  6. Today, this song came to my mind… I found myself singing it (the original)… The lyrics are very challenging. I had to share on FB, and I googled for the lyrics and found this delightful rendition. Thank you… God bless!!

    Posted by Jeanette Burton | October 8, 2013, 5:40 pm
  7. Dear Sister,
    That’s the Army God birthed me into 68 years ago. Being recently retired (June 2013) I’m working on a personal project of compiling all my old scribblings from my old Bibles. Working on Rev. I needed to include a reference to this song and found your music and rendition. It maintains the spirit of the Song without the repetitive style of the very modern praise music. I love it!! If ever I have opportunity to sing again I’d love to use it just as is is on this track. How can I download It?

    Posted by Osbourne L. Mills | February 27, 2015, 5:20 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Except I Am Moved With Compassion. « Salvokat -- Topsy.com - February 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 64,003 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

