//
you're reading...
General

What we actually do.

Seen those “What I actually do.” pictures rolling around the internet?

I saw one for “Corps Officers”, poached it and adapted it to an Aussie audience and with better graphics. It went “viral” apparently. 167 likes, 60 shares and 28 comments in 22 hours. Apparently that’s impressive in facebook land.

The discussion started though – even though it was intended as “humorous” – what is Corps Officership really like? Am I called to a life of holiness and service, yet bound by an inevitable pile of paperwork and bureaucracy?

I enjoyed that people were honestly thinking about the role of a Corps Officer. Apologetic if the humorous angle was discouraging in any way. But, excited that something humorous makes us ask questions!

So, anyway – I attempted a followup. I’ve since realised that I forgot evangelism and a bunch of other things! But, the most important thing is that in the beginning and in the end, we’re pointing to Jesus.

Please comment – add and subtract as you so desire. What is it that we really do? 🙂

You might like these links; get-saved.org, goforsouls.com, armybarmyblog.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “What we actually do.

  1. I appreciate the perspective, but don’t you think – after listing all this that the demands and expectations are too great for any one person? What is the price? HUGE Social ministries – small communities of faith (if any community of faith in many USA corps)…the demand for officers continues, but many blessed and anointed are shoved away because they don’t have college or need some restoration counseling or discipling focused on a particular failing or psychological flaw. The corporate SA seeks corporate wannabe’s at the price of losing valuable and talented and grace-gifted individuals and couples who could easily administer and minister in a community center or a shelter program or on the streets…but they can’t be officers because they can’t balance a check book! SAD. Very sad.

    I have served as a pastoral/preacher gifted person who is/was poor on administrative gifts. YET, I spent all my time and energy trying to be a fairly good administrator because my leadership (frankly) demanded such or at least I assumed they did because of the emails, letters, minutes and warnings at officers’ councils. So I flew by the seat of my pants in areas of giftedness – my sermons were good, but they could have been great. My pastoral ministry was good, but could have been great – IF the structures in the corps setting were such to recognize this…as Acts of the Apostles reminds us when delegating the daily distribution of bread to OTHER officers and local officers WHO WERE FILLED WITH THE HOLY SPIRIT and gifted as such! WHEN I tried to delegate the “daily distribution of bread” in the corps I served, wanting to involve local officers – I frequently ran into the walls of division between the sacred and the secular. Though in some measure we succeeded and broke down these barriers (real and imaginary), it still left a bad taste in our mouths because of the officer tenure thing. Locals can run up the hill, fight the internal battles to a point, BUT employees and soldiers know “that officer will only be here a few years and then what?” THE OFFICER(S) will come and go, but I will remain!!!

    An unwritten rule exists in many SA corps communities in the USA – social service belongs to the professional. Seems any officer who pursues the “profession” is left to administer and write policy – not serve front lines or lead on front lines (exceptions exist, but are becoming more rare than the rule). I know Mr. Court, you and your wife gave us an example of serving and leading front lines beautifully in Canada where it seems to me the dicotomy is even more starkly obvious. I admire that and have used you as an example in some of my seminary writings!

    All in all, I am a relational, preach the gospel and holiness guy. I dream of workng and serving with a team of OFFICERS – ordained and recognized by their leadership- working and ministering in Anytown, USA focused on specific areas of giftedness in service, ministry, evangelism and administration winning thousands to Christ, but instead we get a lonely guy (man OR woman) or couple serving with all of their strength in a community that desperately needs CHRIST, but the officer(s) is/are overwhelmed with the demands of running a successful corporate franchise (McDonaldiszation of the Salvation Army). We then focus on the admin tasks and duties to keep the corporate happy AND then souls won to JESUS are almost accidental — Holy Spirit led, as they should be, but often not because of the officer and the community of faith, but INSPITE of it.

    GOD HELP US!

    Posted by Dan Leisher | February 16, 2012, 11:21 pm
  2. Sorry. Thought this was Stephen Court’s blog! Oops! I appreciate your picture! PLEASE DON’T misunderstand and assume I am argumentative or hostile toward YOU! If anything, bless your heart! I AM PRAYING FOR YOU that you would know THE COMPLETE JOY of serving — you can and will and ARE experiencing. I am so sorry to “go off” like this on YOUR blog. I hope you will give me grace and read my post with understanding and compassion. Forgive me.

    Posted by Dan Leisher | February 16, 2012, 11:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Kathleen Johansson

@salvokat

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

We shall win.

"The decree has gone forth that the kingdoms of this world shall become the kingdoms of our Lord and of His Christ and that He shall reign whose right it is from the River to the ends of the earth. We shall win. It is only a question of time. I believe that this Movement shall inaugurate the final conquest of our Lord Jesus Christ."
- General Catherine Booth

Things I’ve said.

Blog Stats

  • 63,489 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 169 other followers

