Saviour, hear me

This is a Salvation Army song written by Herbert Howard Booth, the original Salvation Army song writing genius.

I’ve written an new tune to his beautiful words.

I haven’t written a new tune because I don’t like the old one or because I’m under some illusion that my tune is better. I just think that sometimes new tunes help us to hear the words better, almost like for the first time.

Have a listen, and let me know what you think!

Here is also a pdf of the sheet music.

1. Saviour, hear me while before Your feet
I the record of my sins repeat.
Stained with guilt, myself abhorring,
Filled with grief, my soul outpouring;
Can You still in mercy think of me,
Stoop to set my shackled spirit free,
Raise my sinking heart and bid me be
Your child once more?

Refrain:
Grace there is my every debt to pay,
Blood to wash my every sin away,
Power to keep me spotless day by day,
For me, for me!

2. All the memories of deeds gone by
Rise within me and Your power defy;
With a deathly chill ensnaring,
They would leave my soul despairing.
Saviour, take my hand, I cannot tell
How to stem the tides that round me swell,
How to ease my conscience, or to quell
My flaming heart.

3. Yet why should I fear? Have You not died
That no seeking soul should be denied?
To that heart, its sins confessing,
Can you fail to give a blessing?
By the love and pity You have shown,
By the blood that did for me atone,
Boldly will I kneel before the throne,
A pleading soul.

4. All the rivers of Your grace I claim,
Over every promise write my name;
As I am I come, believing,
As You are You do, receiving,
Bid me rise a free and pardoned slave,
Master o’er my sin, the world, the grave,
Charging me to preach Your power to save
To sin-bound souls.

Leave a comment